Our Perfect Proposal

Yes, we are engaged! Yes, we are thrilled! Yes, it was the best day of my life! Ahhhh! There, I am better now.

I’d like to start by saying that I have the most amazing and thoughtful boyfriend, oh wait – fiancé! – ever. I honestly feel like the luckiest girl in the world to be able to spend the rest of my life with someone who I love, adore, respect, and enjoy so much. I believe it is rare to find someone who is the perfect partner for you, somehow in life; I was blessed beyond words to find him. To say the least I was completely overwhelmed with joy and love, and I have this new happiness now that I don’t know how to describe. It’s incredible and I don’t really have words to explain.

Let me just tell you how this stinker proposed, ladies – prepare to be jealous, it was absolutely perfect.  As a small prologue – the whole reason why we went to Chicago in the first place was because for Patrick’s birthday I got us tickets to go to a Cubs game at Wrigley Field (one of his bucket list items), so we decided to make an entire vacation out of it. For a couple weeks prior to us leaving he had been telling me that he had a surprise planned for Friday, something we would do together that involved a parachute and ropes. All of his clues and thoughts lead me to believe we were going skydiving. Which number one, this is not something you surprise someone with! And number two, it is not something I would ever really want to do anyway. Then, he alternated his story and said we might be parasailing instead, which I would be excited to do, but it was a little cold and I didn’t plan on packing a wet suit! We were supposed to do his surprise event on Friday, but the weather was so terribly rainy that it got postponed until Sunday.

Sunday came and the entire day was amazing, we got up and went to a really nice breakfast (my favorite meal), then we spent the majority of the day at Navy Pier. We got to walk up and down and sight see, there were boats and activities going on everywhere. The art work and park on the way there were beautiful and it was just nice to be walking around together enjoying the day. We ate lunch at a really nice little spot on the Pier called City Patio. The food was delicious and we sat outside and watched the boats go by. It was only a couple of hours before our surprise adventure and I started to ask a lot of questions. After playing along for a little while, he finally ended my suspense and surprised me that we were actually going on a sailboat! Sailing has been a dream of mine for as long as I can remember. Patrick said since we were doing something on his bucket list, he wanted to do something that was on mine too. (Little did I know, I was dressed in the perfect attire I was actually wearing a scarf with sailboats on it!) I was so excited not only because this was something I have always wanted to do, but I was so touched that he would plan something that he knew I would love so much. I teared up a little at lunch, of course… but I couldn’t help myself… I was so excited! We grabbed a bottle of wine and some beer and headed to the sailing dock, we had a really nice Capitan named Kirk who had been sailing for about 30 years. Patrick got to sail and drive the boat while Kirk was getting everything ready to go.

The view of the city from the water was breathtaking; I was in awe of how peaceful the city looked from Lake Michigan. The color of the water was so pretty, I had such a hard time believing we were on a lake and not out in the middle of the ocean. There were huge puffy white clouds covering the bright blue sky, which I like to refer to as ‘happy clouds.’  For those of you who have not sailed, there is something about it that is so silent and surreal. You are in the middle of nowhere and the boat makes no noise and the sails move you all around. It was so awesome, and waiting 27 years was for sure worth the wait. Our ride was from 5 – 8pm so it was an evening ride. Now that sunset is around 7 at night it was the perfect time. The sky line had the purest colors of pink, blue, and purple on one side, and yellow, orange, and green on the other. Every building was perfectly outlined and the city looked as still as a postcard. As the sunset started getting closer we went to the front of the boat and were sitting and enjoying the view. As the sun was setting, Patrick mentioned that it looked so awesome that he wanted the Captain to take our picture. So he went to the back of the boat and gave him his phone. Then, he came back he told me to stand up so he could take the picture. As soon as I stood up, he dropped to one knee (well I thought he was falling off the boat), and told me that he loved me (I can’t remember anything else that came out of his mouth) and as he asked me if I would marry him as he pulled the ring out of his pocket. I was literally in shock and having a hard time processing everything that was happening. I was so overwhelmed and surprised that all I could say was “Of Course!” (which I may have said before he even asked the question J ) and then I fell to the ground. I remember him telling me not to fall off the boat, but I just couldn’t control myself. I was so surprised and happy. Once I regained composure I made sure I had said yes and then I cried again. Trust me here; they were complete tears of joy. I was so content and so thankful that a moment I had waited for my entire life had just come true.

We were in the middle of Lake Michigan surrounded by the buildings and skyline of the city at sunset, I had the most beautiful ring on my finger that Patrick picked out all by himself, and we were able to sit together and celebrate in the moment. I asked a million questions and expressed how happy I was. In my head I still could not believe everything that was happening. It was a moment I wish could have lasted forever; I tried to take everything in as much as I could so I would never forget the details. Once the ride was over I was on cloud nine, we walked back to the hotel where we called our family and told them our exciting news. All of them already knew and were awaiting our phone call, but talking to each of them and hearing how excited and supportive they were of us was so special. I felt like my family was proud, proud of me, proud of the man I had found, and proud that we are going to be together forever.

We got re-ready pretty fast as we had dinner reservations we couldn’t miss – RPM Italian. We celebrated with great food and a bottle of wine. It was a dinner I will never forget; and not just because it is a place I wanted to go. But, it was so special to be together and celebrating the biggest moment in our life so far. Everything was delicious and perfect. I am serious when I say I wish this day and night didn’t have to end.

Every girl dreams of a proposal that will knock them off their feet. Something they can be proud of and tell everyone about: something that describes the couple, their relationship, and their story. I love our story, I love how everything happened, and I have no idea how he knew (because I never told anyone before) that I always thought it would be so cool to get engaged on a boat. Mostly because I grew up on the lake as a kid and I just thought it would be so romantic and special. It was every part of that and then some; I am still so surprised that I never figured anything out. I was truly shocked and it took a while for everything to sink in. Everything about that day was perfect. But the best part is knowing that I have someone who is so remarkably incredible to share my life with. I would not trade it for anything in the world. We have traveled a long path to get to where we are, and I cannot wait to continue our journey. We are truly blessed to have the love with one another that many people dream of.

Here are some pictures from the day…

 

 

Leave a Reply

